Saracens vs Exeter Chiefs – Match Preview

Owen Farrell Saracens

Exeter Chiefs face Saracens at Twickenham Stadium this weekend in the final of the Aviva Premiership 2016, where the North London side will be looking to complete the European and Domestic double.

Saracens are yet to lose in their last 6 fixtures at Twickenham, the last loss coming back in 2014 when they were narrowly beaten 24-20 by Northampton Saints.

For the Chiefs however, this is their first final since being promoted into the Premiership back in 2010, and the story of their rise to the top has been a roller-coaster ride to say the least.

Head coach Rob Baxter has managed to mould together a squad of young homegrown talent, the likes of Jack Nowell, Henry Slade and Luke Cowan-Dickie all key to their success.

Exeter have won just 4 times in all 14 fixtures with the North London team, and the Chiefs will be looking for revenge on Saturday after losing both home and away to the Sarries this year.

Although, Rob Baxter’s men are on a good run of form recently, with wins against Wasps, Worcester and Northampton, including a 62-14 thumping of Harlequins in Round 22.

Saracens have made no changes to the side that thumped Tigers 44-17 last weekend at Allianz Park. They boast a total 7 players who were selected for the England tour to Australia, and all 7 have been included in the 23-man squad to play Exeter. Stand-out performers Chris Ashton and Chris Wyles both dotted over for a brace of tries each, and will be wanting to replicate that this Saturday. Mark McCall will be pleased with his win-loss ration as the last defeat for his side in the Premiership was back in March, and of course just this month his side won the European Cup.

Saracens: 15:Alex Goode 14:Chris Ashton 13:Duncan Taylor 12:Brad Barritt 11: Chris Wyles 10:Owen Farrell 9:Richard Wigglesworth 1:Mako Vunipola 2:Schalk Brits 3:Petrus Du Plessis 4:Maro Itoje 5:George Kruis 6: Michael Rhodes 7:Will Fraser 8: Billy Vunipola

Exeter Chiefs: 15:Phil Dollman 14:Jack Nowell 13:Henry Slade 12:Ian Whitten 11: Olly Woodburn 10: Gareth Steenson 9:Will Chudley 1:Ben Moon 2:Luke Cowan-Dickie 3:Harry Williams 4:Mitch Lees 5:Geoff Parling 6:Dave Ewers 7:Julian Salvi 8:Don Armand

The Aviva Premiership Final will be televised from 2pm on BT Sport 1HD.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top